Learn About the Services Available to You

In the work I do, I frequently meet parents who are fighting through understanding what is going on with their kids.  Still others are trying to find someone who will be a good fit.  These I understand as parents.  What baffles me is the parents who know the diagnosis, but have not put even basic effort to figure out what there is out there to help their children.  This lack of understanding is because it is so counter to my nature: when I have a problem I research it.  I want to do know what it is, who can help, and how they are likely to help.  So I research it.

If my lack of comprehension bothers you, I’m sorry if I made you feel condemned.  I do not, it is just a perspective and a mindset that is different from mine.

That said, I challenge you to find out about your child’s struggle.  More specifically, I challenge you to look beyond the definitions to what is out there to help you.  Many schools have services that are targeted to help your child.  Many states have programs, or at least lists of programs, that are designed to support parents, provide aid to children, and help you navigate the various struggles.  If you have need of help, it is out there if you know where to look for it.

So, where do you start?  Well, if I may be so bold, I’d suggest some reading may help you.  However, I would recommend looking just beyond my book, which is designed as a starting point for the various disorders and where to look for help. There are also more specific books to address your child’s particular struggle.  Also, speak to your school counselor or school social worker to see what they can recommend.  Do a web search of “your state” + “your child’s disorder” and see what you can find.

Probably most effective of all, go and do a web search for support groups and give them a call.  Support groups are made up of parents who are in your same boat.  They know what many of the services are, but even better, know if they are actually helpful.  The collective information a group of people can have is huge, and often out strips what some like me has.

Leave a Reply

